## **Board Bullets**

Highlights of the Cherokee County Board of Education Meeting held on Thursday, September 11, 2014, beginning at 6 pm, at Ranger Elementary Middle School

Thank you to those Principals, Administrators, and Central Office Staff attending: Chanda Bias, Alissa Cheek, Tom Graham, Arnold Mathews, Delaine Macdonald, Barry McClure, Kelley McDonald, Andy Pyle, Boyd Shields, Kami Tipton, Cynthia Waldroup, Paul Wilson, Lance Bristol, Julie Higdon, Stephanie Anderson, Jennifer Cable, Jeana Hardin, Pam Pressley, Gary Wright, and SROs Brent Hardin, Derrick Palmer and Randy Phillips.

- Mr. Brinke called the meeting to order and welcomed all present then asked everyone in attendance to give a moment of thought in remembrance of the events of September 11, 2001.
- Ms. Kelley McDonald, Principal, Ranger Elementary Middle School, introduced middle school students and their teachers who provided information to the Board about the school's incentive reward trips program. Once they were done, Ms. McDonald welcomed everyone in attendance and gave the invocation.
- Mr. Winfield Clonts led the Pledge of Allegiance and Mr. Randy Barnett read the mission statement.
- The agenda was approved.
- The minutes from the August 14, 2014 Regular Board of Education meeting were approved as presented. The minutes from the September 8, 2014 Emergency Board of Education meeting were approved as presented.
- Mr. Erik Brinke called for public comment. There was none.
- Ms. Summer Butler, student of TCEC, delivered a presentation outlining lessons learned while attending the Governor's School. At the conclusion of the presentation, Ms. Butler was presented with a certificate of achievement.
- Ms. Jeana Hardin recognized the accomplishments of Ms. Jennifer White on achieving her baccalaureate degree.
- Ms. Kim Gibson and Ms. Jeana Hardin recognized the Teachers of the Year from each school. Each teacher was presented with a certificate of noteworthy achievement as well as a cash award of \$100 for the School Teacher of the Year, and \$1,000 for the District Teacher of the Year. Those teachers recognized were: Jennifer Lugiewicz, Murphy Elementary School, District Teacher of the Year, and representing their schools as Teacher of the Year: Peggy Cook, Martins Creek Elementary Middle School, Rachel Payne, Murphy Middle School, Christy Payne, Ranger Elementary Middle School, Lana Parker, Marble Elementary School, Andrea Loudermilk, Peachtree Elementary School, Joslyn Parker, Andrews High School, Melissa Brown, Andrews Elementary School, Keith Holloway, Hiwassee Dam Elementary Middle School, Crystal Ware, Andrews Middle School, Sonya Crouch, Mountain Youth School, and Monica Keasler, Hiwassee Dam High School.
- Ms. Kim Gibson and Ms. Jeana Hardin were recognized to present District testing results. Ms. Gibson provided information about the elementary and middle school grades and Ms. Hardin provided a briefing about the high school grades. Their information outlined new achievement levels, raised expectations, EVAAS growth chart and testing results over a 3 year period.
- Upon completion of the testing presentation, Ms. Hardin presented the District Strategic plan for consideration. The plan was adopted.
- Mr. Arnold Mathews accompanied by fifth grade students, Torin Rogers and Zeke Brinke appeared before the Board to deliver a leadership presentation called "The Leader in Me." The presentation was

1

- very informative and outlined Murphy Elementary School's approach to development of stronger leadership among staff as well as students.
- Dr. David Ackerman delivered a Facilities Sub-Committee update to the Board. During his presentation, Dr. Ackerman addressed the capital outlay to local current expense fund transfer informing the Board that the FSC had reached a consensus to approve the request as presented in a letter to Mr. Randy Wiggins. The Board approved the request. Next, Dr. Ackerman addressed a request to use sales tax not to exceed \$8,700 to pay for the step replacement performed at the AHS press box by Wells & West. The request was approved. Next, Dr. Ackerman addressed AHS Stadium punch-list concerns and cost avoidance savings achieved by the renegotiation of the Aramark contract.
- Ms. Stephanie Anderson appeared before the Board and presented the 2014/15 budget resolution for consideration. The budget was approved. Following this, Ms. Anderson requested budget amendments for the Local Current Expense and Capital Projects funds to include use of the ½ cent sales tax to make debt service payments for REMS classroom addition, Wells & West AHS Press Box Stair replacement project, EC building ADA Handicap compliant project, and Dalton HVAC chiller service for Hiwassee Dam schools. The amendments were approved. Next, Ms. Anderson made a request to use Lottery funds in the amount of \$2,094.91 for additional debt service payment. The request was approved.
- Ms. Debbie Hogan presented several policies for first and second reading. The following policies were heard for second reading and were approved: 3420 Student Promotion & Accountability, 6225
   Free & Reduced Price Food Services, 7940 Classified Personnel: Suspension & Dismissal, and 9220
   Security of Facilities.
- After presenting the policies for second reading, Ms. Hogan next outlined policies for first reading.
  Those policies presented were: 1320-3560 Title I Parent Involvement, 3225-4312-7320 Technology Responsible Use, 3226-4205 Internet Safety, 7820 Personnel Files.
- Ms. Kim Gibson delivered the Superintendent's report to the Board. Ms. Gibson informed the Board of an overnight fieldtrip approved for MCEMS to travel to Disney World in Orlando, FL from March 1 thru 6, 2015. Next, Ms. Gibson spoke of a donation made by the United Way of Cherokee and Clay Counties of \$335. Ms. Gibson next informed the Board that State Superintendent Dr. June Atkinson had informed Cherokee County Schools Friday, September 5, 2014 that it had once again achieved a Top 10 status in the State in graduation rate.
- Ms. Debbie Hogan read the motion to adjourn to break and closed session. The motion was approved.
- When the Board returned to open session, the following actions were taken:
- The Board approved the following resignations:

Name, Position, Assignment, Type of Request & Effective Date

Diane Curtis, Child Nutrition, Peachtree, Resignation, September 15, 2014 Casey Henson, School Nurse, District, Resignation, August 21, 2014

• Ms. Gibson announced the following transfers to meet the needs of the district: *Name, From, To, & Effective Date* 

Ed Goss, MES, PT-Child Nutrition, MES, FT-Child Nutrition August 16, 2014

• The Board approved the following substitute teachers:

Lacie Clayton Christina Dartez Jessica Garrett Callie Radford Rebecca Woodard Dominick Hoyt Marsha Mashburn

• The Board approved the following 21<sup>st</sup> CCLC substitutes:

Name & School

Sherry Brookins, RES--21st CCLC Substitute on an as needed basis

CJ Rummler, RES--21st CCLC Substitute on an as needed basis Brandy Raper, RES--21st CCLC Substitute on an as needed basis Cindi Herr, MCS--21st CCLC Substitute on an as needed basis Melissa Johnson, MES--21st CCLC Substitute on an as needed basis Freda Morgan, MES--21st CCLC Substitute on an as needed basis

• The Board approved the following volunteers:

Name, School, Volunteer Activity

Davis Gentry, MHS, Football Coach Susan Guess, REMS, Basketball, Volleyball, Cross Country Regan Jordan, AMS, Volleyball Coach Marsha Mashburn, AMS/AHS, Girls Basketball & Softball

- The next regular meeting of the Cherokee County Board of Education will be held at Andrews Elementary School on Thursday, October 9, 2014 at 6:00 pm. The Board announced a Special Called meeting of the Board of Education to be held September 22, 2014 beginning at 12 pm at Central Office.
- There being no further business to discuss, the meeting adjourned at 8:23 pm.